It’s advisory time again, and for none other than my brother and his friend. The thing is they both were unclear of where they are headed… and they still are. The reason is simple. Like it or not, most schooling here takes place in a ridiculous frame of mind of constant learning without objective.

It happens a lot, that you study and get through to simply pass all those papers with excellent grades, the teachers being evaluated on how many students passed and achieved the high/low scores. It’s a quality vs quantity situation, where the ultimate aim of the organization (here, an educational institution) is to maximize scores and reap all they money they can. Gone are the days when quality meant everything to parents, students and institutions alike.

Anyway, I guess the 2, and many others who are heading for the commercial world will have to make their options clear, and read the market trends well to judge where they can fit in well. Observation is the key here, and refining the approach till they pass out is mandatory.

Interestingly, a proposition for a gig came up, which probably would be held sometime next month. My brother and his friend are musicians, and some of the people they know too. Good thing, I suggested they hold it for a small crowd who can actually enjoy the music for the sake of listening to quality music. No requests, no glitz or glamour, just pure music. I’m really looking forward to it.

So it was 2 weddings during the most recent freeze spell across the city, and I literally froze. U’s wedding, and then my colleague’s brother’s valima (that was a long link), followed by a meet up with my best friend on Sunday night. Returned from U’s wedding just before 2am, and on the Saturday was back by midnight (now isn’t that outstanding). Got back after meet up with friend after midnight again, but not that late (phew!).

Karachi Metroblogs contained a write up of good eateries, especially on Sharae Faisal (there are barely any, that’s why the special mention). So, yes, Karachi Foods – a venture of Food Center and Karachi Haleem – from the Burns Road and Hussainabad areas. The rest is already there, so you need to just visit the site and visit the place. By the way, Karachi Foods does serve in style. Whoever heard of biryani, karhai, haleem, fried chicken and other related stuff being served by a fully suited group of people 😛 hehehe

Oh yes, I managed to get “That Thing You Do” played today on air on FM91, the theme being One Hit Wonders… the song is by The Wonders (who apparently were also One Hit Wonders – just managing to sell one album and then breaking up), from the movie with the same title. The radio host also loved the track but couldn’t find it because she had the wrong movie in mind – Tom Hanks being common for both movies.

So the week has just begun… the best, I hope, does somehow start creeping in already… oh yes, started my studies again… needed that for a long time to get through. Enough being busy with work and all; time to get back and make sure I do make good of time available.

10 responses to “

  1. msg to ur bro : he’s lucky to have someone to guide him!

    Education is all about having more money and less brains. More contacts and less grades. Totally agree with u here. Thinking of packing my bro back to CA ‘if’ things work out in that way…

    U alwys mention food when i havent had my lunch/dinner 😛 Karachi Foods duznt come up on my list…the tikkas from Royal always beat it down hehehe

    Happy studying 😀

  2. Hmmm…Ace never told me abt this GIG;)..

    Well, agree with you about educational institutes and students’ aptitudes but UD, i disagree with u regarding more money and more contacts, its not the case everywhere. i can quote my own experiences for substantiation 🙂

    Study well!

    Happy Winters :):)

  3. msg to ur bro : he's lucky to have someone to guide him!

    Education is all about having more money and less brains. More contacts and less grades. Totally agree with u here. Thinking of packing my bro back to CA 'if' things work out in that way…

    U alwys mention food when i havent had my lunch/dinner 😛 Karachi Foods duznt come up on my list…the tikkas from Royal always beat it down hehehe

    Happy studying 😀

  4. Hmmm…Ace never told me abt this GIG;)..

    Well, agree with you about educational institutes and students' aptitudes but UD, i disagree with u regarding more money and more contacts, its not the case everywhere. i can quote my own experiences for substantiation 🙂

    Study well!

    Happy Winters :):)

  5. I would agree with Sammy on her experience. She got through without any contacts, and I am witness to whatever I know.

    Well, the GIG is in planning phase… I’m sure you’d want to come along, so will let you know IF and WHEN it happens…. theek hai 🙂

  6. I would agree with Sammy on her experience. She got through without any contacts, and I am witness to whatever I know.

    Well, the GIG is in planning phase… I'm sure you'd want to come along, so will let you know IF and WHEN it happens…. theek hai 🙂

Leave a Reply

