IM services on the go

I recently wrote about using VOIP services on my phone. Unfortunately, as I had planned to route an actual telephone number to my phone through a SIP provider, has not gone through, as the service providers have begun charging (quite hefty for my liking :))

Nevertheless, at least I did try to get it through, and occasionally do test out the voice capability of a few IM services. I have been testing quite a few mobile applications periodically, most of them related to accessing the internet, and various widget based solutions. Among these are, eBuddy, Gtalk (mobile), Opera Mini, Nimbuzz, Fring, Yahoo! Go and several others.

My personal favourite is Nimbuzz for chat communication to all my contacts. The best part is that it supports MSN, AIM, Yahoo, Google, Skype and ICQ. Fring also supports these, but have found that Nimbuzz uses quite less data and is very fast loading and uses lesser data packets to keep you connected for as long as you want.

Previously I used the Sony Ericsson W810i, which only support Java based applications. Unfortunately that phone died on me just recently, and had to dispose of it. Since then I’m using the Nokia E51, and so far I’m quite satisfied. Not to forget the amazing capabilities of the device. Anyway, getting back to Nimbuzz, it also provides real time chat status (… is typing) messages. This applies to all of the messenger protocols I mentioned. Additionally, it automatically indicates voice support availability on all protocols, based on the user on the other side. And it can immediately initiate the call, as and whenever required. You can also use the SIP capabilities of the software to allow calls to directly. Just a note here though, the Nokia E51 allows direct SIP and Internet Call connectivity on the go, without using any 3rd party software, which is by all means a perfectly added advantage.

Surprisingly, I keep slipping to talking about my phone all the time 🙂 he he … oh well, I can’t deny I’m impressed by it 😉

Fring is also really good, but there are few features I just want, which it doesn’t support. This goes for the ability to divide contacts in groups or to show contacts list by IM Service, or to hide offline contacts, ability to see if the other person is typing, or if the person is still online or not, while I’m in the chat window. And it doesn’t have good tones to go with it either, hence I fancy using Nimbuzz more than any other chat service.

I’ve also signed up to the Ambassador service, which allows me to test out any new additions to features or client versions. The one disappointment I do have though is that the desktop version of Nimbuzz doesn’t support Skype, like the mobile phone client. That’s much left to be desired in this case, as I’d like to keep my contacts linked up through one messenger service. And Trillian is certainly not in my list of favourites…

4 responses to “IM services on the go

  1. you really should check out Palringo. it’s much more efficient than Nimbuzz and much easier to use. it also uses less data and doesn’t run down your battery on the nokia. give it a try. it also has a cool walkie-talkie style voice and allows you take pictues as well. much better than SMS! cool!

  2. Palringo doesn’t support Skype, unfortunately. Though the interface looks enticing. Will give it a short. Thanks, James.

  3. you really should check out Palringo. it's much more efficient than Nimbuzz and much easier to use. it also uses less data and doesn't run down your battery on the nokia. give it a try. it also has a cool walkie-talkie style voice and allows you take pictues as well. much better than SMS! cool!

  4. Palringo doesn't support Skype, unfortunately. Though the interface looks enticing. Will give it a short. Thanks, James.

Leave a Reply

