Motivation

Though I don’t believe that I am a speaker, I prefer to remain positive and make others think positively too. Unfortunately, given the current financial situation worldwide, most people have had  to go through a rough patch, so many losing their jobs owing to crunches, and the need to cut down costs drastically.

Honestly speaking, I’m one of those who thought I’d never get affected by it, but did. So one lesson learnt, don’t expect too much, but don’t expect too little either. I’ve been working since 1996, starting off with minor administrative work at my high school. Thankfully I was gifted with a good writing skill, and that just made it all happen. Moving on, I also got a job in direct sales, and the main reason was that I wanted to be able to verbally communicate as effectively as I write. And so far, its been a life changing situation for me, from one organization to the other over the past 10 years. At each place though, I’ve gained more insight into the business, and came out successful (in my honest opinion) in delivering what I could best, given the limitations within the organizational structure and management style.

More recently though, I’ve automatically jumped into the motivational mode, involuntarily. Some of my friends whom I’ve talked to suggest I take this up more professionally. The only thing is, the way I talk is informal, and usually relates to the person I’m talking to, and not a typical presentation approach as it would be in front of the crowd. And I’ll tell you this, I’m not much of a presenter either, rather I just speak my mind.

The same goes for teaching. I can’t teach, yet I can thankfully mentor. Its different, the latter being informal and direct, rather than in a crowd situation. And by and large, I’ve felt that most people don’t open up unless they really have an issue which is more or less common with so many others. This is my observation at any training event I’ve attended so far. Only those who have gone through similar public speaking sessions manage to speak up a bit, the rest are silent.

Last night I involuntarily suggested to one of my former colleagues on what she should be doing while searching for a job. The same thing I guess I’ve done for a few other of my former colleagues, who have been either unemlployed for some time, or have been dissatisfied with their current employment. Either way, motivation works for everyone, and that usually does the trick for everyone. My status for today is:

Mohammad Nawaz believes there is so much more than a person can do than just do his own job… contributions make people great, not just fulfilling the JD.

I strongly believe in value addition, which is actually the main reason why anyone would even go for a brand for that matter. The same applies to human resources, each of us having unique capabilities and things we’ve done while experiencing our finest skills. Thus I suggest that while preparing your CV, you need to list the contributions, which should be a reflection of your job description, and more. We, by default, contribute to the places we work.

The CV thus becomes a marketing pitch, pitching a USP, and potentially getting a job. Thankfully, a few of my friends have finally got a job after being unemployed for over 6 months. I am really happy for them and I really hope that I can help many others who could get some respite from experience.

All of this is part of motivation, which comes from experience in similar or varying situations. Everything adds… and I’m more than happy to add value for anyone.

Leave a Reply

